Mountain Province became a special province of the Philippines in 1907. It was made up of the sub-provinces of Bontoc-Lepanto, Amburayan, Apayao, Benguet, Ifugao and Kalinga. The Provincial Supervisor, Samuel Kane, was appointed Governor of the province and Bontoc was then the capital town.

In February 1942, the dreaded Japanese Army arrived in Bontoc via the Nueva Viscaya and Kalinga route. Dr. Hillary Clapp was made governor of Mountain Province and during his term, the people were spared from so much suffering from the Japanese colonizers.

It razed the town so the people fled to the mountains for cover while the Japanese troops arrived daily fleeing towards Aparri and Kiangan to join the troops of General Yamashita.

Being the provincial capital, people flocked to Bontoc and business flourished. Hotels, lodging houses, restaurants, stores and houses sprouted. The Baguio-Bontoc road was rehabilitated with the assistance of Lepanto Mining Corporation and the Dangwa Development Corporation. On April 7, 1967, the new Mountain Province came into operation (Source: Philippine Department of Tourism).

Find out how much our PHILIPPINES TRAVEL PACKAGES by filling out this QUICK QUOTATION FORM

Email Address:
Contact Nos
Where do you want to go?
Where are you coming from?
Date of Departure
Date of Return
Other details (ie. how many in your group, specific hotels, specific activities, etc)

create web form