Leyte has a colorful history. By 1768, Leyte, now separated from Samar, became a politico-military province. On May 22, 1959, the province was divided into Leyte and southern Leyte.


Leyte Provincial Capitol - Located on Sen. EƱage Street fronting Plaza Libertad and the University of the Philippines Visayas Tacloban. Built in 1907, it is the seat of the provincial government of Leyte. Sturdy mansion where Gen. Mac Arthur put up his official headquarters and residence when he came with the Liberation forces in October 20, 1944.

Mac Arthur Leyte Landing Memorial - Located on Red Beach, Palo Leyte can be reached by public transport or any private vehicle. Monument marking the spot where Gen. Mac Arthur landed with the Liberation Forces; lagoon where the statues of the life-size stand; beautiful beach; panoramic view of Leyte Gulf and Samar Island.

Hill 120 - Located in Dulag. 8. Battle of Baluarte Marker Located at Baluarte, Bgy.

Hilongos Bell Tower - Located in Hilongos, it is the highest existing bell built during the Spanish era; historic viewing.

Japanese War Memorial Cemetery - Located at Bgy. San Diego (Buraueun) Site of one of the fiercest battles fought in Leyte for the liberation; Japanese cemetery frequently visited by memorial tour groups (Source: Philippine Department of Tourism).

Find out how much our PHILIPPINES TRAVEL PACKAGES by filling out this QUICK QUOTATION FORM

Email Address:
Contact Nos
Where do you want to go?
Where are you coming from?
Date of Departure
Date of Return
Other details (ie. how many in your group, specific hotels, specific activities, etc)

create web form